Leadership Teams

Leadership is essential to the mission of NYS TESOL.  As educators and advocates for English learners in your own contexts, you know how vital a role you play. Our Leadership Teams create a community of educators willing to step forward to advance the professional development and advocacy mission of our organization.


Advocacy Team

Contact them at vpadvocacy@nystesol.org

Carmen Diaz

VP Advocacy

Susan Lafond

Federal Advocacy Coordinator


Shannon Hilliker

Liaison to Other Organizations

Jasmine Byrd

Statewide Advocacy


Dorothy Caldone

Statewide Advocacy


Christine Passarelli

Statewide Advocacy



Communications Team

Contact them at vpcommunications@nystesol.org

T. Leo Schmitt

VP Communications

Lubie Grujicic-Alatriste

Editor-in-Chief

Lesley Painter-Farrell

Director of Online Professional Learning

Brigitte Pittarelli

Director of Social Media

Haojie (Jean) Jiang

Webinar Support


Glencora Roberts

Website Support



Mosaic Newsletter Team

Contact them at mosaic@nystesol.org

Genie Smiddy

Editor-in-Chief, NYS TESOL Newsletter

Xiaochen Du

Editor, Research in Brief

Justin Gerald

Editor, Identity and Liberation

Amanda Moody

Editor, Mentoring Matters



Jocelyn Choi

Editor, Cultural Connections


Ann Wintergerst

Editor, Promising Practices



Finance & Operations Team

Contact them at vpfinance@nystesol.org

Teresa Bruno

VP Finance

Sarah Rorimer-Chen

Member Support

Rosibeli Gomez

Treasurer



James Stotz

Accountant/ Financial Advisor


Cynthia Wiseman

Business Manager





Membership Team 

Contact them at vpmembership@nystesol.org

Christine E. Seebach

VP Membership

Janie Thomas

Director of Member Services

Özge Yol

Co-Director, Member Recruitment (Upstate)

Sheila Damato

Co-Director, Member Recruitment (Downstate)

Silvia Giminez

Co-Director, Member Recruitment (Downstate)

Kendra Howard

Co-Director, Member Recruitment (Downstate)



Outreach Team 

Contact them at vpoutreach@nystesol.org

Becca Reed

VP of Outreach

Etienne Koakou

Director of Regions

Ching-Ching Lin

Director of SIGs