2019 NYS TESOL Student Projects Contest

Call for Reviewers!



NYS TESOL is seeking volunteers to serve as reviewers for our Student Project Contest. Reviewers will use a provided rubric to evaluate project submissions. 

Reviewers are expected to evaluate projects in a timely and responsible manner. Contest winners will be honored at the NYS TESOL 49th Annual Conference in White Plains, ‪Nov. 14-16.‬

Check out the conference site at http://ac19.nystesol.org

If you are interested, please complete the online form below:https://form.jotform.com/90886418336164








Winners from Past Years

13th Annual, 2018

Prompt: A cultural experience that influenced my life.

12th Annual, 2017

Theme: Advocacy Advocacy (noun) – public support for a course of action or way of doing things 

Advocate (verb) – to express support for a particular idea or way of doing things

11th Annual, 2016

Theme:“Alone we can do so little. Together we can do so much”

-Helen Keller (1880-1968)

10th Annual, 2015
Theme: "Technology gives us power, but it does not and cannot tell us how to use that power. Thanks to technology, we can instantly communicate across the world, but it still doesn't help us know what to say."
--Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks (1948-)

9th Annual, 2014
Theme: "A good head and good heart are always a formidable combination. But when you add to that a literate tongue or pen, then you have something very special." --Nelson Mandela

8th Annual, 2013
Theme: "Be the change you want to see in the world" -Gandhi

7th Annual, 2012
Theme: "The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." -Eleanor Roosevelt

6th Annual, 2011
Theme: How has your community helped you learn English?

5th Annual, 2010
Theme: A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

4th Annual, 2009
Theme: What aspects of American culture do you find to be different from your culture?

3rd Annual, 2008
Theme: What aspects of American culture do you find to be different from your culture?

2nd Annual, 2007
Theme: My Growth as an English Language Learner

1st Annual, 2006
Theme: A famous Chinese Proverb states, “A teacher can open the door, but the student must enter on their own.” How does this quotation illustrate your experience learning English?